Diamond Certification

Gemology laboratories such as the Gemological Institute of America have created a certificate of quality that can be issued for any diamond whose dimensions, carat weight, symmetry, color and clarity meet the standard.


Can A Diamond Fall Out Of A Ring 1

Trained professionals evaluate, scrutinize and measure the diamonds using professional tools such as a microscope. Several lab entities exist and it’s important to know which ones are trustworthy and reliable, and which ones are not. Because diamond certificates are not created equal, the price and value of diamonds are not comparable across varying certifications. Ensure that you purchase a diamond with a certificate from a highly reputable grading entity and that you review the diamond closely before purchase.

At ICONIC we believe in trust built on complete transparency and that is why we offer our clients the opportunity to get your gem carefully examined and graded by professionals.


A diamond certificate, also known as a diamond grading report, is a report created by a professional gemology laboratory. A professional gemologist will measure, examine, and assess the qualities of diamonds in order to produce an unbiased report within their diamond labs. A certificate will include details of the diamond’s dimensions, carat weight, color, clarity, symmetry, and more. Please see the diamond grading chart for more details on clarity and color grading.

Shutterstock 1766049104 (1)

Some of the world’s most respected independent grading labs include the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) and the American Gem Society (AGS). Grading standards vary between labs, making it important to choose a lab known for its rigorous standards. Each entity grades and describes diamonds differently and sometimes the difference is significant.

Diamond certificates give buyers confidence that what they are buying the diamond quality as is described. Assessing the value, however, requires an appraisal. Appraisals are usually carried out for insurance purposes.


Types of diamond certification in diamond industry:



GIA stands for Gemological Institute of America, and they are responsible for grading diamonds. GIA has robust procedures in place to ensure a diamond’s anonymity and the objectivity of the grading process. GIA doesn’t certify diamonds per se, but rather it grades them. A GIA diamond grading report is an unbiased assessment of a stone’s quality characteristics. The terms “GIA certified” and “GIA diamond cert” are commonly used in the jewelry industry to refer to diamonds that have undergone GIA’s rigorous grading process and to the reports that accompany them.


American Gem Society (AGS ) established the first diamond grading standards guidelines in 1966 which still influences the jewelery industry today. They produce unbiased diamond grading reports through their laboratories, grading both mounted and unmounted gems. They can only assign a diamond cut grade for loose diamonds that are Round Brilliants, square Princess cuts, Emerald cuts, Oval cuts, and Cushion cuts.

The AGS Laboratories uses the AGS Performance-Based Cut Grade system, which is based on the overall performance of a diamond, specifically in the area of Light Performance. When analyzing the overall performance of the diamond, we take the following into consideration: light performance (contrast, leakage, dispersion, and brightness), proportion factors (girdle thickness, Culet size, Weight Ratio, durability, and tilt), and finish (Polish and Symmetry).


The European Gemological Laboratory is another diamond grading organization made up of independent gemological laboratories that were established in 1974. They issue EGL diamond certifications and for the most part, EGL certified diamond will compare equally in quality to a GIA certified diamond that is graded two color grades and one clarity grade lower.


International Gemological Institute (IGI) is an institute that grades diamonds institute who performs similar functions to the GIA, in that they both issue diamond grade reports and diamond certifications. IGI operates 18 laboratories across the globe performing IGI diamond certification on earth grown and lab-grown diamonds.


Independent Gemmological Laboratory (IGL) issues diamond certifications and are not affiliated with any diamond manufacturers. To maintain the quality of their work, IGL uses a strict vetting process ensures that we only produce IGL Diamond Certificates for stones that are natural and high-quality diamonds and that those that don’t pass a certain standard will be rejected.


Hoge Raad Voor Diamant HRD Antwerp is Europe’s leading authority when it comes to diamond grading applying advanced techniques in their state of the art laboratories and each HRD diamond grading report comes with security features to protect against counterfeit certificates.


Gemological Science International (GSI) diamond certification includes  GSI diamond grading reports and colored stone grading reports.


Gem Studies Laboratory is an Australian based organization which offering diamond grading and gem testing.  GSL provides diamond certification and gem authentication reports to established world standards.

Frequently Asked Questions

There are a lot of factors to take into account which will determine the value of a 1 carat diamond, including the cut, clarity, colour and shape of the stone. Prices currently vary from anything from $1,800 to in excess of $12,000.
To get a diamond certified by the GIA, it must be sent to one of their official testing laboratories. They will perform an analysis of the stone, grade it, and issue a certificate. This certificate is referred to as a “diamond grading report”. Your local fine jewelry retailer is qualified to obtain a GIA report and to explain its contents to you.
Flawless or FL is the highest grade for clarity. An FL diamond has no imperfections. For color, D or completely colorless diamond is the highest grade quality .
Lab-grown diamonds are real, ethically-sourced and conflict-free, as well as being eco-friendly. They are also more affordable.
Most diamond certifications can be checked online at the relevant diamond grading institute websites. for a convenient means of verifying your diamond grading report. GIA is the preferred diamond quality grading organization in the United States.
International Gemological Institute (IGI) is a diamond grading institute who performs similar functions to the Gemological Institute of America (GIA), in that they both issue diamond grading reports and diamond certifications. GIA diamond reports are held in higher regard within the American market but both organizations have a good reputation within the jewelry industry.
You can be assured that GIA certified diamonds are accurately assessed and graded giving you verification of the quality you thought you purchased and whether it is in fact what you purchased.
Diamonds are graded on a scale to measure cut, clarity, color and carat weight to determine their value. For example, as an industry standard, the GIA uses a color-grading scale from D-to-Z, with D being the highest grade.
To get a diamond certified by the GIA, it must be sent to one of their official testing laboratories. They will perform an analysis of the stone, grade it, and issue a certificate known as a “diamond grading report”.